Page tree
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Clearing Your Internet Explorer 7 Browser's Cache

All those files stored in your cache take up space, so from time to time, you may want to clear out the files stored in your cache to free up some space on your computer. This is called "clearing browser cache."

Moreover, sometimes the cache doesn't let you see new images or pages on your website if you've just updated it. The browser will not load the most current data from the server but, from your PC instead in an attempt to speed up opening / download of the website.

This tutorial also shows how to delete "Cookies" and "History" Beware, deleting cookies will empty your saved logins, so you'll need to re-authenticate on websites that usually "remember" you. Cookies are also used for saving preferences on the websites that you visit. Deleting cookies is not recommended in most cases.

Deleting history will empty the journal of websites you've visited. Sometimes it's needed, but it is mostly used for convenience in referring and remembering the sites you have visited in the past.

Please delete history and cookies only if you have been recommended to do so.


It is generally safe to remove your "Temporary Internet Files" without any problems, and doing so will solve most cache problems.

1. On the Internet Explorer Tools menu, click Internet Options.


The Internet Options box should open to the General tab.


2. On the General tab, in the Browsing history section, click the Delete... button. This will bring up the Delete Browsing History Box.

Select the Delete files... button to delete Temporary Internet Files

Select the Delete cookies... button to delete Cookies. SEE WARNING ABOVE.

Select the Delete history... button to delete your browsing history. SEE WARNING ABOVE.

After you select delete a box will appear asking you to confirm you would like to delete the files. Select Yes for each one.




Confirm Internet Explorer Cache Delete


Confirm Internet Explorer Cookies Delete


Confirm Internet Explorer History Delete


3. Click Yes, and then click Close and OK again.